Power, Art and Estrangement: The Mystique of Television and the Soul of Nigeria’s 80s Generation

The Pen-sage scrolls

Lurking Fury

Back when I was in university our third year project for playwriting class was to write a play on the theme “the days of old”. We were to reflect Nigeria’s decline from its golden age into a 21st century cesspit. This was what the lecturer expected; it was not what he got.

The climax of my play had two young adults abandon their backward parents and move on to a new today – condemning the parents to lonely deaths. I reveled in the expectation of offending my lecturer who, under those circumstances, symbolized the older generation. I thought the play politically incorrect to the point of disturbance, that was until I read what my classmates had written.

We were about 20 taking the course, and excited to see what sentiments my classmates expressed I skimmed through most of the other plays. Discovery gripped me! Almost every single person…

View original post 2,738 more words

Leave a Reply

